what's wrong that am I not seeing...

EDIS and Megajolt installation related topics. Be sure to review the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/MJLJ_V4_vehicle_installation_guide">Vehicle installation guide</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

simon k

what's wrong that am I not seeing...

Post by simon k »

hiya

I've been running an MJLJ on my mini for about 2 years, runs great, love it - my father is in to Morris Minors, and has one running dual fuel with LPG. I offered to install a MJLJ on it so that he could run a Petrol map and an LPG map. Good plan right.

So I soldered up a kit, made a loom and installed it this weekend. The bastard just won't spark - I've checked and re-checked every wire, and can't figure it out. I wired the EDIS to MJLJ loom with the same connectors as in my mini, and have swapped as much as I can between the cars, but unfortunately I have my engine in pieces, and can't compare voltages etc. which is a real pain.

I disconnected the MJLJ to rule out a fault there (putting the EDIS in 10* limp home mode). There is about 2.5V AC across the VR sensor when cranking, and I've tried reversing the connections - no good

The only thing that doesn't check out is that according to the Installation Guide, I should have 12V on pin 1 of the EDIS - I don't - but I've tried the EDIS from my mini and it's the same.

My boss offered me the little portable oscilloscope to bring home for the weekend, but I forgot to grab it :evil:

if anyone has any clues, I'd love to hear them

thanks

NITROPIXIE

Post by NITROPIXIE »

What 12v suppy are you using for the EDIS and coil pack. I have known instances where people have taken from the wrong ignition position so when it cranks there is 0v going to it. It basically isolates all none essentia circuitry for starting so you get max current to the ignition system.

Is the car positive earth??

Are you using the coil wire for the coil pack. Is it resistive???