EDIS 6 on an 4 cilinder?

EDIS and Megajolt installation related topics. Be sure to review the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/MJLJ_V4_vehicle_installation_guide">Vehicle installation guide</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

theyoyo187

EDIS 6 on an 4 cilinder?

Post by theyoyo187 »

Hi there Ive bought an strange type of megajolt, i think its an v3 but they changed it.
They built the edis (6) unit into the board and there is also built in an hard ref limmiter.
I found some info about it i think it is from morspeed

The previous owner used it on an 6 cilinder jaguar i beleave, but now im using it on an vw 16v with R1 carbs.

The problem is if i rev up the engine then i get a lot of misfires while revving.

I dont know what the problem is Ive checked al the eartings and directly made directly positive connections

thanks,

texpis

Post by texpis »

I'm not a massive expert on this system but I would have thought you cannot run edis 6 on a 4 cylinder, the edis fires in pairs so when it fires the last 2 you wont have a spark to your engine.

Mick

theyoyo187

Post by theyoyo187 »

yes but ive only used 2 coils does it mean that the edis 6 fires on 60 degrees? and the edis 4 on 90 degrees?

the engine runs nicely but if you rev it up it fires in the exhaust...

brentp
Site Admin

Post by brentp »

That sounds odd! Do you have any pictures of the unit - internal / external?

Agree - a 6 cylinder EDIS should not work properly on a 4 cylinder.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

brentp
Site Admin

Post by brentp »

Also: as an FYI, We removed the extra duplicate posts. Please continue the conversation in this thread!
Brent Picasso
Facebook | Twitter

theyoyo187

Post by theyoyo187 »

I don't have any pictures ik could make some if you like, and how do i put them here?

i found one picture on the web...