No communication on test bench

Megajolt Kit assembly Question and Answers. Be sure to review the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/MJLJ_V4_kit_assembly_guide">Kit assembly guide</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

DannyP

No communication on test bench

Post by DannyP »

I know I am probably the 89th person to have this problem, but here goes:

I did assembly and testing yesterday, all parts from Digi-Key. I only substituted a couple parts for TPS, as they were OOS on some on the list. C13, C14, and the inductor were OOS, so I substituted for identical parts but different numbers. I have been known to make a mistake occasionally, but I have been soldering and experimenting for over 30 years.

All voltages ok, anti-static mat and wrist-strap used for all sensitive parts.

I am using 10 AA nicads, fully charged for power on the bench.

Checked the laptop with hyperterminal, shorted pin 3 and 4 at the far end of my cable with a jumper. Got my echo, no problem. IBM P3, Win 98 SE, conventional serial port on com1, which is why I keep the laptop around. I work for telco, and all the equipment I work with uses DB-9 or DB-25 for comms.

Anyway, nothing coming back from Megajolt at all. I tried Alex's software first, got fed up and am asking here before I go any further. I don't have a scope at home, just a DVM.

So if anyone has a suggestion, I would appreciate it. Thanks in advance. BTW, thanks Brent, the board is a thing of beauty, very HQ! BTW, the microcontroller was burned by Brent.
Vintage 550 Spyder replica VW type1 2165cc 9.8:1 Dual Weber 44 IDF RABY motor MJLJ V3/TPS

MartinM

As you seem to be

Post by MartinM »

As you seem to be experienced I'll keep this short!

- voltage on pin 10 of processor should be 2.5v when measured with a DVM on DC (shows oscillator is working)
- Baud rate on PC should be 4800, 8, N, 1