New Install, RPM Challanges

Race Capture Pro hardware installation- power, wiring, physical installation, etc. See the dedicated forum for Sensor related topics

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

rob_h

New Install, RPM Challanges

Post by rob_h »

I just received my hardware and got the Bluetooth display working, have the software loaded, and have been able to read/write to the Race Capture Pro. I have a G2X data logger with a full range of sensors in another race car, so I have some experience with these types of systems.

This car is a 2002 BMW 330Ci running a stock ECU and tune. This car is being built for the new Spec E46 series.
I'm having trouble getting an RPM signal. I've piggybacked an injector signal and confirmed that my timing light gets a good tach signal from that line. Suggestions on the proper settings for the pulse input? I am connected to terminal #1.

brentp
Site Admin

Post by brentp »

Hi Rob,

Can you describe the problems you're seeing? Are you not getting a signal at all, or is it jumping around?

If you've piggybacked on an injector signal the signal coming off of that might be too noisy for the RPM input to handle.

We've built the CoilX module, which is a small module that is designed to interface with the flyback RPM pulse from an ignition coil. We haven't tried it with the pulse from an injector coil ; injectors are much smaller and may not trigger this module. Here's the information on the module: http://www.autosportlabs.net/CoilX

What other RPM signals do you have access to? What kind of ignition coils does your engine use? If they're coil on plug modules triggered with 5v, that may work with the RPM input on RCP.

Keep us posted!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

rob_h

Post by rob_h »

Thank you for the reply.