not getting gps logs.

General Q&A specific to RaceCapture/Pro. For app related questions post in the RaceCapture App forum. also see the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCapture">RaceCapture Information Page</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

jerjozwik

not getting gps logs.

Post by jerjozwik »

hello, im very new to this little box of tricks. im trying to capture ecu data logging runs, that parts not important. what is important is i am attempting to understand the racecapture box and figure out logging with it before i go to a track day.

so far i have the racecapture box zip-tied to my center console. it is powered by a usb coming off a laptop. i mounted the gps receiver on the passenger side window. when i start up the box i get a steady power led, but the bottom right led did not turn on. the led in the gps unit was flashing. when i read the logs the gps info is static and never moves.

ideas? im sure im missing something or skipping a step.

gizmodo

Post by gizmodo »

Give it a while to lock onto a GPS satellite. If the lower right LED isn't flashing quickly it has not locked onto a satellite. Are you inside a garage while doing this? Do you have the antenna plugged into the correct port?

jerjozwik

Post by jerjozwik »

outside, clear skies. gps receiver mounted to passenger window with a clear line of site. plugged into the right side telephone connector.

ok i just did it at my desk and i got a signal. maybe i miss understanding the gps view window...?

i set lat and lon to a line graph and the gps numbers are my physical location, that is correct. but the gps window just shows a red dot all the way to the top right of the window.

gizmodo

Post by gizmodo »

The GPS view window shows movement during a logging session. So, if you didn't move while logging it will just sit there.