twin plug ,2 edis4 modules,2 coilpaks,& 1 Megajolt unit

General Megajolt Questions and Answers

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

WLD419

twin plug ,2 edis4 modules,2 coilpaks,& 1 Megajolt unit

Post by WLD419 »

Hello, I'm new to crankfire edis stuff, I have some questions I hope you can answer, I'm going twin plug on my
type4 vw engine ,& I'm want to know if 1 Megajolt unit can operate 2 edis4 module & 2 coilpaks , I want to fire 2 plugs per cylinder at the same time ,1 from each coil pak , if so which megajolt unit would best suit my needs ?
Thank you in advance Bill D. , this is a 2800cc type4 with a rpm range of 7000 maybe 7500 , if I'm going in the wrong direction please feel free to redirect me , thanks again
Bill DeWitt
1970 914-4 2800cc
WeekEnd Therapy

bmcdaniel

Post by bmcdaniel »

I would think you just need to wire a second coil pack in parallel with the first, if the EDIS module can sink the current of two coils.

WLD419

Post by WLD419 »

That's the reason I'm asking & thinking 2 edis4 modules is because of the possibility of it over heating (heatsink)
plus a post I seen about 2 edis4 module with 4 COP setup, I would tend t think that 2 coilpaks on 1 edis4 module
might takeaway from the Dwell time ? I'm probably over thinking this , also what would better suit my needs MAP or
TPS , my EFI system uses both (cb performance Quicktune/twin 48 throttlebodies) , I think that it might be easier to
tap into my EFI map lines , maybe I fiqure a way to add another TPS on the other throttle body, thanks Bill D. ,
here's a link to a post I read about ,a gentleman ran 2 edis modules with 4 COP , it looks like it was a few years ago
I wonder if it held up well ?

http://www.autosportlabs.org/viewtopic.php?t=1359
Bill DeWitt
1970 914-4 2800cc
WeekEnd Therapy

WLD419

Post by WLD419 »

bump- kinda hope to get some answers before I start purchase items needed for the conversion to edis4 x2 + Megajolt , thanks again in advance Bill D.
Bill DeWitt