Megajolt or MSD problem on EDIS Corvette

EDIS and Megajolt installation related topics. Be sure to review the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/MJLJ_V4_vehicle_installation_guide">Vehicle installation guide</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

jcuprisi

Megajolt or MSD problem on EDIS Corvette

Post by jcuprisi »

:?:

This is a copy of a post that I made to the MSD Forum. Is there any way that the Megajolt running the default MAP could cause this problem? I am waiting for a serial to USB connector to arrive in order to use the Megajolt software.

The MSD Tech Line leaves much to be desired. I spoke to a disinterested tech on the phone and he mumbled something about the signals from the EDIS Module. I was a Ford/LM tech for 15 years and now am an instructor for Ford for the past 20 years. When I say that I have checked everything on this build I mean it. Obviously I have missed one thing. By everything, I mean all the related EDIS related signals on an O'scope. Each circuit has been double checked.

I will be contacting MSD again tomorrow to try to resolve this. I can also post a wiring diagram of the circuit when I complete some details.

Thanks

As Posted to MSD:
1981 Corvette 5.7L. 4 speed.

TPI Conversion:

1981 Corvette 5.7 converted to 1989 TPI specifications. 5speed Tremec TKO. Edelbrock Cylinder Heads, Crane Roller Cam, 4degree advance Cam shaft. TPIS Runners on ACCEL Lingenfelter Intake manifold.

All factory sensors check out OK with GM Tech1 scanner: MAF, TP IAC, etc.

No performance issues with fuel or ignition two years after conversion.

EDIS Conversion:

Converted GM HEI to Ford EDIS-8 Ignition system modified to run as a Coil-Near-Plug: 8 Ford COP coils with MSD Spark Plug wires: Super Conductor Spark Plug Wire Set Corvette 305-350 HEI, Part No. 31769.

Mallory Oil Pump drive in place of HEI distributor.